TIME KEEPS ON SLIPPIN’

later

FROM HELL HE RIDES has my first ever time jump. The majority of the film takes place 7 years after the events of the opening scene. I’ve completed those early shots so I spent this past week aging the cabin appropriately. One of the questions I get asked most often is, how do I know when a set is ready. It’s a tricky question for me to answer. It may surprise some to hear that I actually do not fully design my sets before I build them. I know the general architecture, I know what the script calls for and I gather a lot of reference material but there are no detailed drawings. It all comes down to experience and instinct. When I think I’m getting close I will take dozens of stills from the angles I plan to shoot from. Once those look good it’s pencils down and bring out the puppets.

Leave a comment